School computing hubs revealed


The first 23 hubs to support the development of computer science education across England have been unveiled by the National Centre for Computing Education (NCCE).

A broad spread of institutions will aim to enhance the subject education on offer while addressing a decline in the number of pupils taking computing in the last two years.

Essex, Hertfordshire, Kent, North Yorkshire and Tyne and Wear will all be home to two hubs, with others spread across England.

The government has focused on developing computing in recent years, investing to support the development of 400 computing master teachers.

Key support for schools

The new hubs will provide assistance to computing teachers at both primary and secondary level in their regions, supporting training, resource development and continuing professional development.

In addition, the NCCE has said the hubs will link schools with professionals and leading academics while covering the theory and practical aspects of computing teaching.

Since being established last November, the NCCE has worked to develop the training hubs and the tendering process for the next set of hubs is already underway.

Tech giant Google provided £1 million to support the development of the hubs, alongside £84 million of government funding.

Vital partnerships with teachers

NCCE chair, Professor Simon Peyton Jones, said the partnerships with teachers will be vital to the centre achieving its aims.

“A single inspired, equipped, valued and supported teacher will influence tens or hundreds of children every day, and thousands over their career,” he explained.

His views were backed up by schools minister Nick Gibb, who highlighted that digital is making a significant contribution to the UK economy.

“It is important that our teachers have the expertise to teach computer science with confidence and ensure young people leave school prepared for life in the 21st century,” he added.

The 23 new computing hubs

The following 23 schools will house the initial set of computing hubs:

  • All Saints RC School, North Yorkshire
  • Beauchamp College, Leicestershire
  • Bingley Grammar School, West Yorkshire
  • Bishop Challoner Catholic College, West Midlands
  • Cardinal Hume Catholic School, Tyne and Wear
  • Carmel College, County Durham
  • Chesterton Community College, Cambridgeshire
  • City of Stoke-on-Trent 6th Form College, Staffordshire
  • Dartford Grammar School, Kent
  • Dereham Neatherd High School, Norfolk
  • Exeter Mathematics School, Devon
  • Harrogate Grammar School, North Yorkshire
  • Kings Priory School, Tyne and Wear
  • Langley Grammar School, Berkshire
  • Newstead Wood School, Kent
  • Pate’s Grammar School, Gloucestershire
  • Saffron Walden County High School, Essex
  • Sandringham School, Hertfordshire
  • St Clements Danes School, Hertfordshire
  • The Chase, Worcestershire
  • Truro and Penwith College, Cornwall
  • West Suffolk College, Suffolk
  • Westcliff High School for Girls, Essex